The 2015 Fabri-Quilt new block blog hop

My good friend Stephanie, who blogs over at Late Night Quilter, asked me if I’d like to participate in the Fabri-quilt new block blog hop by designing a block with their new line of solids.

Fabri-Quilt-New-Block-Blog-HopNaturally, I jumped at the chance to join the more than 60 bloggers who over four days this week have each designed a new 12-inch finished block and provide a tutorial for their readers. Of course, I’m running late, since this is the last day of the hop. But better late than never!

Fabri-Quilt generously donated fat eighths in each of the following six colors, aka the Watermelon Summer palette from the Prairie Cloths solids line: (from top left to right: chartreuse, turquoise, coral, aqua, lapis blue and white). The blocks will be made into charity quilts.

color-palette-3As anyone who has seen my modern quilt Pinterest board knows, I’m a huge fan of plus-sign quilts. They’re quick, easy and make a bold impact. So, while scouring the Web for ideas, I found an image of the flag from the country of Georgia, and knew I had found my inspiration.

Flag_of_GeorgiaHere’s my interpretation, using the lush Fabri-Quilt colors:

block design1What I like about this block is that it’s easy and is great for using up scraps. You can make it in solids, as I have here, or you could go scrappy with prints. But now that I’ve gotten my hands on this fabric, I can definitely say I’ll order more of it in the future.

To make the Georgian flag block, here’s what you’ll need:

Six fat eighths, each a unique color, cut as follows:
Lapis blue ā€” cut two 2.5-inch strips; subcut one strip to 2.5×12.5 inches, subcut the second strip into two pieces, each 2.5x 5.5 inches

Chartreuse, turquoise, coral, aqua ā€” cut one 1/5-inch strip; subcut to get 2 pieces of each color 1.5×1.5 inches and 1 piece that’s 1.5×3.5 inches

White: cut six 1.5-inch strips; subcut to get 16 squares that are 1.5×1.5 inches each, 8 strips that are 1.5×5.5 inches each and 8 strips that are 1.5×3.5 inches each.

Begin by sewing a white square to each side of a colored 1.5-inch square ensuring you have an accurate 1/4-inch seam. Press your seams toward the middle solid. When complete, your finished strips should measure 3.5 inches.I like to measure my strips as I go, just to be sure I’m on the right track. Sometimes I oversize them, as you can see below, and then trim. Once you’ve done this, proceed with all the remaining 1.5-inch squares.

DSC_0001Next, take one of the strips you just made and sew it to the same color 3.5-inch strip. Press toward the single strip. Repeat with the remaining three-square strip in the same color and attach it to the opposite side of the single strip. Press toward the middle. Your completed plus-sign should be 3.5-inches square.

DSC_0004Sew a 1.5×3.5-inch strip of white on each of two sides of the plus sign, and press toward the white strip. Follow that by sewing a 1.5×5.5-inch strip to the remaining sizes; press toward the white. Your finished piece should be 5.5-inches square. Repeat this process with all four colors.

DSC_0008DSC_0005Take one of the 5.5-inch strips of the dark lapis fabric and sew it to one of the plus sign squares; press toward the lapis, then sew the other side to another plus sign as shown above. Press toward the lapis. Repeat this process with your remaining plus blocks.

DSC_0010Sew the remaining 12.5-inch lapis strip to one side of one of the two pluses you’ve just sewn; press toward the lapis.

DSC_0011Do the same thing with the other side and you’re all done!

DSC_0012A note about the fabric: some of the bloggers said they had a lot of shrinkage when working with the fabric, either during pre-wash or using a steam iron. I’m not a pre-washer, so this didn’t happen for me. I do use steam, but again, not a problem. Just be sure to check your measurements throughout and you should be fine.

Others had trouble with the colors bleeding, especially the red salmon color. I didn’t have that issue, but to be safe, you can put a small piece in a glass of hot water to see if it runs. If it does, it’s time to pre-wash.

But wait, there’s more! There’s even a giveaway! You could win a 1/2 yard bundle of lovely palette by visiting each dayā€™s blog host. And if you want an easy way to view the blocks, I hear some of the bloggers have created Pinterest boards just for the swap.

Monday, August 31st
Host ā€“ Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl

Kelly @Quilting it Out
Martha @Once a Wingnut
Irene @Patchwork and Pastry
Cassandra @The (not so) Dramatic Life
Andrea @The Sewing Fools
Bernie @Needle and Foot
Silvia @A Stranger View
Wanda @Wandaā€™s Life Sampler
Sandra @Musings of a Menopausal Melon
Vicki @Orchid Owl Quilts
Jess @Quilty Habit
Diana @Red Delicious Life
Chelsea @Patch the Giraffe
Margo @Shadow Lane Quilts
Renee @Quilts of a Feather

Tuesday, September 1st
Host ā€“ Cheryl @Meadow Mist Designs
Wednesday, September 2nd
Host ā€“ Stephanie @Late Night Quilter

Hannah @Modern Magnolia Studio
Cindy @Stitchin At Home
Abby @Hashtag Quilt
Lisa @Sunlight in Winter Quilts
Carrie @Chopping Block Quilts
Eleanor @Cat Approved Quilting
Brianna @The Iron and Needle
Tish @Tishā€™s Adventures in Wonderland
Jan @The Colorful Fabriholic
Sarah @Smiles Too Loudly
Beth @Cooking Up Quilts
Leanne @Devoted Quilter
Liz @LizzyClips Design
Kim @Leland Ave Studios
Kitty @Night Quilter

Thursday, September 3rd
Host ā€“ Terri Ann @Childlike Fascination

Helen @Midget Gem Quilts
Jinger @Trials of a Newbie Quilter
Anja @Anja Quilts
Kathryn @Upitis Quilts
Mary @Quilting is in my Blood
Emma @My Handmade Home
Francine @Mocha Wild Child
Dina @Living Water Quilter
Deb @The Farmhouse Quilter
Lori @SewPsyched!
Amy @13 Spools
Denise @CrafTraditions
Sandra @The Bias Edge

XOXO,
Sandra

23 thoughts on “The 2015 Fabri-Quilt new block blog hop

  1. I absolutely love your quilt block! You did an amazing job in creating it and writing the tutorial. I have added it to my to make list and think it will make a remarkable scrap quilt for one of my nephews. Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful creative day!

  2. I like the scale of your block idea. It’s IS perfect for using up scraps, but I wonder about using prints in the backgrounds while keeping those mighty plus signs all the same. Hmmmm….Thanks for sharing.

  3. That is such a fun block… On your note, I used to “loose” fabric when I first started out. I’m also a no-pre-wash-lots-of-steam” girl and I found that by pressing my seams open instead of to the side, I eliminated a lot of my problem. It’s a bit longer, but the effect is wonderful.

    1. Thanks, Yanic. I’ll have to give that a try. I’ve certainly pressed seams open many times, but didn’t consider when I wrote this that it might help if a fabric has a tendency to shrink.

      1. You are welcome. I used to always come short. By the time I was done with blocks, they were always 1/4 to almost 1/2 inch too small. Lots of trial and error on that one. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment