Finished: the Halloween quilt

A lot has been going on over here in the past few months, namely that I moved to a different state for a new day job. It’s all very exciting, and I’ll tell you more about it at a later date, but since today is Halloween, I wanted to share my finished Halloween quilt.

DSC_0003When I started this quilt, I hadn’t yet become interested in modern quilting the way I am now. As I thought about the quilting, I seriously considered removing the border to make it more modern, but I didn’t want that fabric on the back since it was the one I loved most.

DSC_0011DSC_0002Moving forward, I started quilting by stitching in the ditch around the on-point squares (three-inches finished with a one-inch finished border for those of you playing at home), and stopped in the middle last year at this time when I was two-thirds of the way through.

I took it up this spring and debated ripping again, but decided I would rather get it finished than take out what I’d already done.

DSC_0001To be honest, I’m not really crazy with the front. Oh, I still love the fabrics, but the top just isn’t modern enough for me. When I finished hand-stitching the binding, I even thought of ripping it all out, cutting the border into the three-inch squares and setting the entire quilt on point. There would be lots of great opportunities for fussy-cutting.

I even have enough of the setting triangles left over to do that, and I’d probably make the quilt a little less rectangular in shape. Right now, it’s a twin size at approx. 72×90 inches, but I think I’d add one extra row to the width, depending on how many squares I got from the border.

DSC_0008Now that I’ve used the quilt for awhile on my bed folded like a runner, I’m bothered a little less by the front. Also, with so many other quilts to make and/or finish, do I really want to spend the time redoing this one? Probably not.

Thankfully, I did go modern on the back:

DSC_0005This Halloween fabric didn’t have the vintage vibe of the rest, so it was perfect for a modern back with lots of negative space. When I’m feeling modern, I fold it to the back side. Other days, like today, I show off the front.

DSC_0004DSC_0006I don’t always plan it, but one of the things I love to do with my quilts is create unexpected surprises. I love the little witch peering over the binding here: (try not to notice the extra threads!)

DSC_0012Happy Halloween everyone!

xoxo,
Sandra

6 thoughts on “Finished: the Halloween quilt

  1. I do like it shown on the foot of your bed like that. It shows off the block piecing very nicely. Good job and thanks for sharing, especially your thoughts on what you like and don’t like. I learn a lot when people do that.

    1. Hi, Erin – thanks for stopping in. All is well and will be even better once I get this sewing room/office organized! Hope all is well with you too.

Leave a Reply

