Finished: a couple of quick kitchen gifts

Just wanted to stop in before I head out and visit friends with a couple of quick gifts I made that you can easily finish yourself before the holidays.

First up, a couple of potholders that I made with leftovers from a holiday table runner I started last week.

DSC_0074I used four (4 1/2-inch) squares, set off by 1 1/2-inch strips, finishing the potholder at nine inches. I added a layer of InsulBrite (but not until I’d already quilted the three layers — don’t ask me how much fun it was to rip all that out!

The back was a large scale holiday print I’ve had in my stash for years, as are the prints on the front.

DSC_0076Straight-line quilting, set one inch apart, made quick work of this. Here’s the other one:

DSC_0077And the back, where I tried my hand at a grid:

DSC_0078Earlier this month, I made a place mat for a friend’s 10-year-old daughter. She wanted to sew and loves animals, so I had her cut some farm print I’ve had for years:

DSC_0072I then cut these to random heights and sewed them into a slightly wonky patchwork. For the back, I used the leftover strips in a striped formation and stippled the layers:

DSC_0073Easy and quick! I just have a couple of gifts left to make, but thankfully, they’re not due until Jan. 6 when my friends will celebrate Serbian Christmas.

XOXO,
Sandra

 

Leave a Reply

