Finished: The Atomic Apps Quilt

I just can’t begin to tell you all how excited I am to share with you my finished Atomic Apps quilt. This is the one where I served as a pattern tester for Kati at from the blue chair, with its design based on a drawing made by her six-year-old daughter.

atomic_appsKati did a great job with the pattern. In fact, I’d say it was one of the fastest tops I’ve ever finished. The straight-line quilting, however, not so much, but that’s OK, because I’m in love with how it turned out and was the perfect thing for my 1950s-inspired look.

front-detailA serendipitous element occurred when I had to buy more Kona medium gray. At the time, I didn’t know how much variation there is with Kona dye lots and wasn’t sure I wanted to proceed until I had enough to make the top from the same lot.

But I decided to go with it, and I’m so glad because I think the variation makes the top even more interesting.

Here’s a look at the back, which I kept pretty simple and with a focus on the inspiration fabric:

finished backBelieve me, the middle isn’t that wonky, it’s just my bad camera angle. Although if it were, it would go with the front.The batting was some Warm and Natural that I had on hand. Not my first choice, but it was actually pretty easy to quilt on, and the price was right. I made the scrappy binding with some of the leftover scraps.

I can’t resist adding one more detail shot, just for fun and a little self-promotion:

finished back2If you’d like to make your own Apps quilt, you can purchase the pattern at the following links:

http://www.craftsy.com/user/1036910/pattern-store

https://www.etsy.com/shop/fromthebluechair

I’m linking up with Amanda Jean at Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It Up Friday — my first time ever! Have a great weekend, everyone.

XOXO,
Sandra

 

6 thoughts on “Finished: The Atomic Apps Quilt

    1. Thanks so much, Kerry. Even though it ranks as one of my very favorites, I didn’t get to keep it. Instead, it is already much loved in the 1950s home of a dear friend and his family. I may have to make it again!

    1. I think it happens with all their colors. My surprise wasn’t that there was variation, but that there was so much of it. You’re right, Lisa. Best to get enough for the project if the variation bothers you. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

