Supernova block swap: the first block

After way too much procrastination, I finally finished my first block for my new friend Stephanie and our Supernova Friendship Block Swap. While there were a few bumps and twists and mutterings of not very nice words, I’m actually pretty pleased with how it turned out.

I only gave Steph a few sneak peaks via my Instagram page, starting with this:

block1But here’s the full view: (we’re using Splendor 1920 by Bari J, along with items from our own stash. The background is Art Gallery solids in ivory.)

DSC_0002And another:

DSC_0001Thanks to reading Jeni Baker’s blog, I learned that it’s important to spoil your swap partner a little, so I made Steph a little table runner out of leftovers from my plus sign quilt.

One of these days I really have to finish that thing …

DSC_0004Here’s the block that Stephanie sent me — isn’t it wonderful?

Steph1In addition to her list of 25 things I didn’t know about her, Steph also sent me these really cute notepads with owls on them:

DSC_0011I’ll reveal some of her 25 things soon (with her permission, of course), but I want to get to the thing I know at least a few of you are waiting for — who won the free Apps pattern?

Jessica Daniele, it’s you! I’ll send you your pdf pattern in just a bit. I hope you’ll send me a photo of your finished Apps quilt.

Screen Shot 2014-06-19 at 5.59.21 PMThanks again to all of you for entering and for those of you who’ve joined Stephanie and I on our block swap.

XOXO,
Sandra

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Supernova block swap: the first block

  1. I love the Supernova block you made for me, and I adore my table runner. I really do feel spoiled. I never make these kinds of things for myself, so it’s very special. I love this Supernova project so much Sandra! You are a genius for thinking of it. Xoxo

    1. Aww, you’re too kind. I love the block you made for me even better than the one I made for you. Thanks for posting a photo on FB of the two of them together, since I cheated and haven’t yet made a version of mine for myself yet. They look great. I think our quilts are going to be wonderful and will definitely be much cherished!

Leave a Reply

