WIP Wednesday, a finish and a giveaway: my Atomic Apps quilt top

You may recall I agreed to serve as a pattern tester for Kati at from the blue chair, making blocks for her new pattern, the App quilt. She just released the final version of the pattern, so be sure to head on over to her blog where she’s offering the pattern at a sale price along with a giveaway on her Instagram page!

(You can buy the pattern on her Craftsy page here, and on Kati’s Etsy store here.)

Here’s my version — the Atomic Apps Quilt! 05-27-14a

This pattern was quick and easy, and Kati’s instructions were very clear. I made this top from eight-inch blocks to show off the Michael Miller Fifties Kitchen fabric to its full advantage.

05-27-14bThe basting was pretty easy on this one, using Sharon Schamber’s method. I decided to do straight-line quilting with vertical lines spaced a half-inch apart, which is taking me awhile. Line after line, I sometimes wish I didn’t love the look so much.

quilting1Airhead me forgot to take a photo of the back, but I’ll be sure to show it to you once I get the quilt finished and bound.

OK, now for the best news. Kati has authorized her testers to give away a copy of the final pattern, so now you’ll have more chances to win – woo hoo! Just leave me a comment saying what kinds of fabric you’d like to use to make your Apps quilt. I’ll pick a winner from a random drawing Monday, June 16.

Since this quilt technically isn’t finished, I’m going to link up with Lee at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday.

WIP_Wednesday

8 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday, a finish and a giveaway: my Atomic Apps quilt top

  1. I would love to do this in batiks, I think it would be beautiful too. Kids fabric would be cool too. It’s a very adaptable pattern. I love it.

  2. OHHH, I’d love to win. 🙂
    I’d love to make this with Tula Pink Foxfield (my new obsession) to showcase all of the yummy fabrics.

  3. I’d use low volume sashing, and completely scrappy, any color/pattern goes for the squares, probably of my favorite fabrics, since it’s such a good way to highlight the fabric.

Leave a Reply

