Testing the App block

So much to say this week! Who knew I could get my act together like this?

One of the first blogs I started following a few years ago was from the blue chair. I love Kati’s contemporary spin on modern quilting, particularly with one of her newest works, the App quilt, inspired by a drawing from her six-year-old daughter.

A few weeks ago, she put out a call for pattern testers for this quilt before she releases it, and I quickly jumped at the chance. I couldn’t believe it when I got the email asking if I was still interested in the project. Was I still interested? Woo hoo!

And then reality struck. I said yes without giving a thought to what I’d make from it. I didn’t want to buy more fabric when lo and behold, I was sitting on a goldmine of perfection.

DSC_0004

This inspiration print is a retro Fifties kitchen from Michael Miller that I kind of had plans for, but nothing definite. The rest are some blenders I bought to go with it.

DSC_0005The challenge came with the background. I tried the creamy kitchen print against some Kona Snow, but it didn’t really work. They were just too similar, but still different, to be jarring rather than pleasing.

And then, the unthinkable happened. One of those moments where I get the perfect idea and think to myself, “Sandra Louise, you are a genius.” Just a few stacked pieces down from the Snow was some Kona Medium Gray, and when paired with all my selected fabrics it looked absolutely fabulous, darling!

DSC_0015It was like it was screaming, “Pick me! Pick me!” as if it knew that by pairing it with my fabrics and the wonky look of Kati’s block, I’d not only have me an App quilt when I was done — I’d have me an Atomic App quilt! I mean, how cool is that?

It’s all very “Mad Men” meets “Man in the Gray Flannel Suit” cool. When it’s finished, I’ll have to save it to cuddle under while watching Don Draper sandwiched in between a Gregory Peck movie marathon.

Should I wear the pearls or the lamé for this?

Thankfully, Kati only required that we make two blocks, one in each size. I wasn’t sure if I wanted the small or large size for this, but after making them both it was abundantly clear.

DSC_0014The blenders would have been fine in the small size, but not the thing that got us here in the first place. I want to show you the only other block I’ve done, this really cool jacquard print of wonky lines, which I hope you can see. It will definitely be the inspiration from the quilting when I get to that point.

DSC_0021Kati asked if we were able to make a finished quilt in two weeks, but I know I can’t make that happen. However, I do hope to have it finished before I go visit a friend next month who lives in a very 50s-style ranch house. It will be the perfect gift.

Wish me luck!

XOXO,
Sandra

A last-minute rush to link up with Lee for WIP Wednesday.

WIP_Wednesday

12 thoughts on “Testing the App block

  1. SO perfect Sandra Louise! I love that wonky square. It’s lovely. I can’t wait to see the whole thing. And I vote lame. I have no idea where the little accent mark is for my “e”. It really changes the word when it’s missing. 🙂

  2. Awwww, thanks, Stephanie! And you’re right that accent mark changes everything. When I first read it, I had forgotten about my fashion question and thought lame? What does she mean? LOL.

Leave a Reply

