Finished: striped garter stitch not-so-baby blanket

After quite a few nights watching TV, along with a few relaxing weekend mornings, I’ve finally finished my striped garter stitch blanket.

3-9-14Finishing at 49×53 inches, I think it makes for a nice baby blanket, one that can grow with a child. It could also go to a toddler or slightly older child at that size.

What’s even better to me is that it used up the rest of my washable wool stash, not to mention I feel great about another finish!

I plan to donate it to Project Linus, who gives quilts/blankets to ill and/or traumatized children of all ages, from infant to teen. I’m sure it will find a good home, and I hope it brings a great deal of comfort. It was definitely made with love.

3-9-14aXOXO,
Sandra

9 thoughts on “Finished: striped garter stitch not-so-baby blanket

    1. Awww, thanks! I have to admit, I did stripes because they were easy. No counting! When the yarn runs out – change color. LOL.

  1. Thanks! But one of these days, I need to get better photos. Now that I have a better camera, I have no excuses.

  2. Oh, thank you for those lovely words. The photos are definitely hiding its lack of perfection, but I’m finally learning to embrace the wabi sabi of things. Knitting helps me relax after too many stressful days, so really, I think I’m almost getting more out of it than the recipient. But I do love the idea it may become a treasure for a child somewhere. What could be better?

    By the way, Roma, I have such respect for the work you do. My mom had dementia for almost three years before she died and I cared for her during that time. It’s such a help to families to have help from kind caregivers such as yourself. Blessings to you.

    1. I understand what you mean about your feelings of having gained more by giving something away, your blanket will create memories and due to my work in Dementia care I know how important that is. I understand what an undertaking it was for you to take care of your Mom, I also know that on every level of her being she knew and felt your love, even when she couldn’t communicate it to you. Bless you & yours xx

Leave a Reply

