WIP: striped garter-stitch blanket

Just a quick post to show you where I am on my striped garter-stitch blanket. I must admit, I’ve been enjoying working on this in the evenings after a long day at work.

2-15-14I’ve got about 4-5 skeins of yarn left, so when this is done in the next couple of weeks (hopefully), it should be a nice lap blanket for someone. I’m also going to use it try my hand at Portuguese knitting. Have you ever heard of this method or tried it? You can see  a video demonstration here.

It looks pretty cool, and after a quick attempt, I think I want to do more of it. Basically, how it works is you wear a special pin on your left shoulder that looks like a safety pin with a hook on the end. Apparently, this helps with the tension.

You can also wrap the yarn around your neck, which is what I did just to try it.

For right-handed throwers, like myself, you still hold the yarn in your right hand (over your middle finger) but the way you make the stitch is similar to left-handed or Continental knitting. The major benefit is less moving, so less strain on your body over time.

And, I dearly hope and pray as I look at the mountains of yarn in my stash, you get faster!

I’m going to give it a go this week; I’ll let you know how I do.

XOXO,
Sandra

 

2 thoughts on “WIP: striped garter-stitch blanket

Leave a Reply

