WIP Wednesday: Felted potholder

So, remember the knitting I did a few posts back that looked like this?

photoAfter a trip in the washing machine and 4,000,000,000,000 hours in the dryer, it now looks like this:

photo-3Here’s a closeup:

photo-2This is my first time felting with garter stitch and I have to say I like it. The texture has a chenille look to it from the ridges the stitch creates, and using the two colors stranded together gives it a variegated appearance that’s really pretty.

Next, I’ll trim the edges so it lays flat and either do an edge stitch of some kind, like a blanket stitch, or I’ll do a quilt-like binding. Either way, it’ll be a great potholder for someone this holiday season.

I’ve just started a new group on my flickr page with my Halloween quilt to start. If you’ve got a WIP you’d like to share, link it up here!

XOXO,
Sandra

Leave a Reply

