A Halloween quilt top

It’s a bit nippy out this morning, and the scent of fall is in the air. It’s the perfect time to start thinking about delicious pumpkin recipes and Halloween.

I started this quilt top last year about this time and unfortunately, didn’t get it done in time for the holiday. I hope to rectify that this year with a new basting method I learned on YouTube.

Here’s the top:

photo

Here’s another view where you can see the whole thing. Doesn’t it look great against the brick facing on my house?

photo-1This top is more traditional than I probably would make now, although the square in a square look is modern. I like how from a distance they seem to float on top of a bed of pumpkins. Here’s a closeup:

photo-3Here’s a photo of the border, which was my inspiration fabric. It was just too cute to pass up.

photo-2The back is definitely going modern. I’ve got some leftover Halloween fabric that wouldn’t have worked for this muted, 1930s-style top, but it’ll be great on the back against a solid black background.

photo-4I plan to quilt it in a grid pattern on the diagonal, but I haven’t decided yet if I’ll stitch in the ditch along the seam lines, or if I’ll go out 1/4-inch. I’ve seen Rita of Red Pepper Quilts finish a lot of her quilts that way, and I really like the look.

If the new basting method (new to me) works, I’ll tell you all about it soon. Until then, thank you so much for visiting. I really appreciate each and every one of you!

XOXO,
Sandra

3 thoughts on “A Halloween quilt top

    1. Hi Nikki,

      Thanks so much! I put on that last border (finally) this morning so I could photograph the top before it got too bright. I think I am going to go with the quarter inch distance; I may even try a little FMQ and do a few spider webs.
      XOXO,
      Sandra

Leave a Reply

