Two new knits

I haven’t yet written much about knitting on this blog, mostly because I really haven’t done much this year. I’d have to be honest and say that while I like to knit, for a number of years now I haven’t loved to knit.

But there are days when sitting with a skein and needles is the perfect way for me to spend my time. It’s a good thing, too, because my stash is really large.

Recently, I got out a couple of skeins that I bought to make a Harry Potter scarf and never started. Instead, I’ve knit the two skeins together in garter stitch to make kind of a mottled cloth. Take a look:

photoNow, this picture is a little deceptive in that it’s not going to be a pillow cover to go with my couch, even though it matches perfectly. Actually, what I planned to do with this is felt it (washing in hot water so it shrinks and melds the fibers together) and make a potholder.

The first time I tried making a felted purse I wasn’t happy with the result, but I was too cheap to throw it away. I cut it up and and used the lining fabric to make binding (you can find instructions at the bottom of this post) to cover the raw edges. They weren’t going to fray, I just thought it looked pretty.

It worked like a charm. In fact, the two potholders I was able to make are two of the best ones I’ve ever had.

Next, I’ve started a simple baby blanket that I plan to give to charity. It’s a free pattern on TLC’s website you can find here.

photo-1Not much yet, but I find the repetitive motion very relaxing!

XOXO,
Sandra

Leave a Reply

