To infinity and beyond …

Ok, the title is cheesy, I know. I just had to go with it.

As much as I enjoy buying fabric online, I have to admit that I would prefer to go to a brick and mortar store. See, sometimes, I get so overwhelmed with how adorable/wonderful/beautiful/perfect a fabric is, that I don’t always notice the fine print on the listing.

So far, I’ve been able to go with the mistakes purchases, but a recent one had me stumped for a bit. I really love Joel Dewberry’s line, “Notting Hill,” and had managed to hold off buying any until I saw this gorgeous yellow/pale turquoise floral combo:

From fabric.com
Photo from fabric.com

I loved it so much that I clicked on a half-yard purchase without noticing that even though it was cotton, it was cotton voile, not quilting cotton. I wasn’t sure what to do with it, so I just left it in a drawer for a couple of months.

I did think about getting more voile and making a quilt like this one Lynne made over at Lily’s Quilts. But after reading about some of the challenges of sewing with such slippery fabric, I wasn’t sure I wanted to invest any more money on it until I had tried sewing with it at least once.

With such a small amount there wasn’t much I could do until I remembered some lovely infinity scarves I saw on Pinterest. In less than 10 minutes, I had my fabric trimmed, pressed, seamed, turned, re-pressed and ends stitched down to this:

scarfWhile it didn’t take long to make, I’m glad I didn’t buy more for a quilt. The puncturing can be persnickety when the needle goes in, and heaven help you if you have to rip something out, which thankfully, I didn’t.

Some sewists choose to hand-sew the ends of the loop together, but I decided it wasn’t worth it to me. It’ll be folded on the back of my neck, under my hair, so it’s not like it’s going to show. Here’s a look:

scarf seamsThe color combo went perfectly with my yellow tank, which was great, since it’s one I don’t wear very much. I paired it with indigo pants and a white knit jacket, turning it into perfect business casual for my office. It’s like getting a whole new outfit for less than $7!

I love it when a plan comes together. (Bonus points if you can name that reference.)

XOXO,
Sandra

2 thoughts on “To infinity and beyond …

  1. I can totally understand not being able to resist this fabric! It is so pretty – I’m so drawn to that shade of green – It’s too bad that I”m too pale to wear it! 😦 PS – great infinity scarf, it looks like the perfect solution 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for the kind words and for stopping by. If it weren’t for the fact that my stash needs dwindling before I buy more fabric, I would definitely have bought more from this collection. Ad if it helps, I’m pretty fair-skinned and I thought it looked great. The colors in the material are quite strong.

Leave a Reply

