Look what arrived in the mail

I had a pleasant surprise when I came home last night and found the two new quilting books I ordered from Amazon: Tula Pink’s new “City Sampler,” which has 100 modern blocks. These will be great inspiration to help me create something for the first meeting of the Louisville Modern Quilt Guild.

pink bookJust looking at the cover gives me all sorts of ideas for the many quilts I’m sure I’ll make from this book.

I also bought a copy of “Quilting Modern,” by Jacquie Gering and Katie Pederson.

quilt modernIf you haven’t yet visited either of these wonderful quilters’ blogs, you should definitely take a look. You can find Jacquie’s work at Tallgrass Prairie Studio and Katie blogs at Sew Katie Did. I can’t wait to spend some quality time with both these books over the next few weeks.

Are any of you familiar with the website Craftsy? I learned about them a little more than a year ago and I am hooked! For those who don’t know, Craftsy is a crafter’s paradise, offering well-done, online video classes in everything from quilting, knitting, sewing, cooking, just too many subjects to list.The classes aren’t expensive, they often have sales and the classes never expire.

Craftsy also offers a number of free mini-classes and it was Elizabeth Hartman’s class, “Creative Quilt Backs,” which got me interested in modern quilts. I really couldn’t recommend the website more.

If you like Jacquie’s work, she now has a class for Craftsy called, “Improvisational Piecing – Modern Design,” where she’ll teach three new techniques and five new quilt designs. I was lucky enough to score it on sale for just $19.99!

I’ve started my next project that I can’t wait to share with you. Here’s a sneak peak:

civil war blockI know it doesn’t look very modern (although the dark pink/wine kinda does to me), but I’ve got some pretty cool plans for this quilt. It will definitely get a modern treatment.

As always, thanks for stopping by for a visit.

XOXO,
Sandra

2 thoughts on “Look what arrived in the mail

  1. Thanks so much. I’m actually really excited about this quilt, even though hourglass blocks are more labor intensive than most. I spent about three hours Sunday just marking fabric! And yes, I have seen many of the free lectures from QuiltCon on Craftsy. I loved Jacquie Gering’s – she really is such an inspiration to me.

Leave a Reply

