All’s well that ends well

I’ve been busy for the past couple of weeks buried in a few extra curricular projects, one of which was finally finishing the quilt for baby Audrey, who’s due to arrive in early May.

I have to say, this was probably the toughest quilt I’ve done to date when it comes to the actual quilting of the layers. I’ve never ripped out so much stitching in my life, with the possible exception of parts of sweaters I’ve had to redo. To be honest, I’m not even completely sure why this one was so tough.

For some reason, I couldn’t seem to get the back taught enough for the straight line quilting I wanted to do, even though I basted it three times. I tried free-motion quilting and had to rip that out as well. The criss-cross lines I settled on have uneven stitches, which I attribute somewhat to me and somewhat to my machine. It’s never really been the same since it was worked on last year.

The quilting may not be perfect, but at least it’s done. I’ll admit once I got the binding on and was able to step away from it, I found I wasn’t that unhappy with the result. Or so says the recovering perfectionist in me.

If only all my lawn was that green!
If only all my lawn was that green!

Here’s a look at the back:

No cut out for this one, since I wasn't trying to hide my reflection in the photo.
I didn’t notice my reflection when I took this shot.
Here it is on the bed in my guest room. I really like the soft light coming in from the window, as well as how the pink looks against my black/tan French toile.
Here it is on the bed in my guest room on what I call my quilt pile (It’s where I keep them all flat.). I really like the soft light coming in from the window, as well as how the pink looks against my black/tan French toile.
A little close up.
A little close up.

Even though it had it’s tough moments, I did learn a lot making this quilt. One thing was I’m not sure I’d use the Kokka Japan fabric in a baby quilt again. I love the look, but it feels a little heavy to me. I think I’d rather use it to make a diaper bag, or maybe fussy cut it in small pieces to use as an accent.

I’m also considering investing in a new machine and would love to have the Juki 2010Q. Every blog post I read says how wonderful it is, with very few drawbacks. I saw a deal on one online that comes with a frame for under $2,000, which wasn’t a bad deal.

Now my decision is do I bite the bullet and buy it, buy just the machine, or send my quilts to the longarmer (my machine still seems to piece pretty well), which given how much fabric I have in my stash would cost far more than the machine and frame. Either way, it’s a lot of money.

Anyone have any ideas? Have you faced similar situations?

In the meantime, I’ll keep piecing. I’m already plotting my next quilt, which is a bed-sized one for me, out of Tula Pink’s luscious Saltwater fabric line. I just love her stuff and can’t wait to get started.

Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you enjoyed your visit.

XOXO,
Sandra

 

Leave a Reply

