First finish for 2013

This is a project I started a few years ago. A friend had sent a few fat quarters and since I didn’t have anything else to go with them at the time that wasn’t spoken for elsewhere, I thought a table runner would be a good use, rather than dump them in my stash.

Sorry about the lousy picture quality - this was the best my phone camera could do.
Sorry about the lousy picture quality – this was the best my phone camera could do.

I made the star blocks and sashing pretty quickly. I even did the back and the quilting on the first star, but on the striped lines of the sashing, I decided I would outline each line, and I got bored pretty quickly with all the stopping and starting and changing of stitch length. So, the runner lived rolled up on a fabric dowel for a few years in my closet.

When I felt insecure doing the quilting for the baby quilt I posted about awhile back, I thought of this runner and how it would be a perfect project to work on to get my confidence back. You can’t see it in the photo, but there’s stippling in the light-green area around the stars, and that’s what I thought I’d do on baby Audrey’s quilt. Looking at what I had done a few years ago looked pretty good, which gave me the courage to try again.

I can’t say my stippling abilities have held up too well over the years, but it was at least good enough to not have to rip out. And while working on it, I decided I’d probably do straight-line quilting on the baby quilt anyway.

Do you have projects like that? You’re all set to do one thing but by the time you get to it you’ve changed your mind a million times? Maybe that’s a dumb question to ask anyone who does crafts. 🙂

Here’s a look at the back — nothing fancy, just using as many leftovers as possible. The few small pieces I have left over I’ll save and maybe use them in a pixel quilt like this one I saw on Kati’s blog, “From the Blue Chair.” It’s a great blog, definitely worth following! You can see another pixel quilt she did here.

I love how the straight lines turned out - probably what made me change my mind about stippling the baby quilt.
I love how the straight lines turned out – probably what made me change my mind about stippling the baby quilt.

Now that I’ve finished the runner and am so happy with it, I’ve got my first handmade Christmas present all ready to go. And I think I now have the confidence to tackle baby Audrey’s quilt and get it done, too.

Thanks so much for stopping by and checking out my first finish for 2013.

XOXO,
Sandra

Leave a Reply

