Oh my stars!

I started this table runner a few years ago with fabric sent to me by a dear friend in Alaska. A few fat quarters of coordinating fabric was just enough to make something pretty and useful.

However, I got a little over ambitious when it came to quilting it (I decided to do lines along each of the dark green vines, which meant a ton of start/stop quilting), so it wasn’t long before I got bored and put the runner in a drawer for a few years.

The runner is made up of three of the sawtooth stars, framed by the vine-like fabric.
The runner is made up of three of the sawtooth stars, framed by the vine-like fabric.

Before I got this out, I had tried practicing my stippling, etc., as well as some new techniques I learned in my Craftsy class, using an old pillowcase with some extra batting pieces. It has been awhile since I’ve done any free motion quilting, and I wanted to get some time in before trying to complete Audrey’s quilt.

What. a. mistake. Not the practice part, the results.

It seems sheets and pillowcases, etc., are woven differently than the cotton used in quilting, which is why my stitches were the worst I’ve ever done and the thread kept breaking. (In a recent post, I thought it was my machine.) I remembered the runner and decided to try my hand at it.

I’m glad I did, because as much as I LOVE my Craftsy classes and seeing all the gorgeous photos of quilts at QuiltCon, it does get a little intimidating. But looking at the table runner helped me realize I could stipple pretty well not so long ago and with some effort and determination, I could conquer my fear and live to stipple/FMQ again.

Sorry, didn’t mean to get all “Little Engine That Could” on you.

In other news, my post on the wool dryer balls got a pretty good response for a new blog so I thought I’d show you what they look like now after a few loads of wash:

Ignore the hard water stains on the ironing board cover, please!
Ignore the hard water stains on the ironing board cover, please!

I think my favorite is the one in the middle, that somehow got just a little separated enough to look like a round head with a helmut on it. I still haven’t noticed any dramatic reduction in drying time, but they work like a charm on removing static cling, and my skin seems to be much happier without dryer sheets. If you try them, I’d love to hear how they work for you.

I’m so glad you could stop by for a visit!

XOXO,
Sandra

Leave a Reply

