Progress on Audrey’s quilt

Just a quick post today to show you how I’ve spent part of my afternoon, other than cooking or cleaning. I actually started sewing the baby quilt I mentioned in my last post using Amy Smart’s pattern, “Chain Linked.” Take a look:

This is up on my makeshift design wall, a felt-backed vinyl tablecloth attached with small nails. Not perfect, but it works until I can do something better.
This is up on my makeshift design wall, a felt-backed vinyl tablecloth attached with small nails. Not perfect, but it works until I can do something better.

I wasn’t sure I’d like working with the Kokka Japan fabric, since it’s got a little more heft to it than traditional quilting cotton, but I have to say I love it. It’s very stable, I don’t worry about it stretching as much as I do other fabrics.

I’m also going to deviate a little from the pattern in that I’ll do half chains on the white rows, rather than all light fabric like Amy does. It’s a great opportunity to fussy cut some of these wonderful circus critters. Unfortunately, I kept making stupid, but thankfully not irrevocable mistakes, so I don’t have any of these done yet, but next time, I promise!

I hope you all enjoy the big game today, whoever you’re rooting for. Me, I’m going to eat a bowl of some broccoli cheddar soup I just made and then get back to the machine, but I’m so glad you stopped by for a visit.

XOXO,
Sandra

4 thoughts on “Progress on Audrey’s quilt

Leave a Reply

