A brand new baby

One of my friends is having a baby, which gives me the chance to work with some of the wonderful new, modern fabrics out there. I really love some of the Kokka Japan fabrics that have amazing artwork and are really nice quality.

2013-01-29_17-33-38_75My friend’s wife was very specific that she wanted pink for her daughter (to be named Audrey), so pink it is. I’m using Nancy Wolff’s Kokka Circus and plan to do Amy Smart’s “Chain Linked” pattern. I only bought five fat quarters (the stuff is expensive) so I didn’t want to cut it into small pieces. Amy’s pattern will be perfect to show off these large scale prints.

2013-01-29_17-34-09_458Surrounding the five-inch finished squares are the fabrics above, I’m using Full Circle by Dorothy Schmitz for Moda (left) and Ramblings by P&B Textiles (right) that I bought today at my local quilt shop. I had originally planned to use solid fabrics, but when I saw these, I thought they’d work even better.

I hope to start cutting this week, and I think this quilt will be an easy, quick one. I can’t wait to meet Audrey and give her this quilt.

I hope you enjoyed this preview, and thanks so much for stopping by!

XOXO,
Sandra

Leave a Reply

